# Economic Development Committee October 7, 2015 Town Hall Selectmen's Meeting Room 7:00 PM

## **Committee Members in attendance:**

Lorraine Brue, Mark Grebbin, Sr., Daniel Krantz, Thomas Murphy, Michael Saegh, Mike Stanton, Kurt Yeghian, Dave Feldman, Tim Kenneally

# **Committee Members absent:**

Stephen Coote

## Staff in attendance:

William Keegan

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m.

#### Discussion:

- -Discussion on Professional Background of Committee Members Bill Keegan opened the meeting with a request for each committee member to explain their professional background and what experience they can bring to the committee.
- -Discussion on Leadership/Possible Vote

Mr. Keegan then opened the floor for nominations for Chair of the Economic Development Committee. Mike Saegh nominated Lorraine Brue for Chair; Tim Kenneally seconded the nomination. Present committee members voted unanimously in favor of Lorraine Brue for Chair.

The floor was opened for nominations for Vice-Chair of the Economic Development Committee.

Dave Feldman nominated Timothy Kenneally for Vice-Chair; Daniel Krantz seconded the nomination.

Present committee members voted unanimously in favor of Timothy Kenneally for Vice-Chair.

Nominations were then accepted for Clerk of the Economic Development Committee. Mark Grebbin nominated Daniel Krantz for Clerk; Tom Murphy seconded the nomination. Present committee members voted unanimously in favor of Daniel Krantz for Clerk.

-Discussion on Subcommittees' Roles

Mr. Keegan requested that subcommittees be formed in the following areas:

- Infrastructure and Development
- Financing
- Existing Inventory

The following members agreed to serve on these committees:

- Infrastructure and Development Dave Feldman, Mike Saegh, Mike Stanton and Dan Krantz
- Financing Lorraine Brue, Mike Saegh
- Existing Inventory Tim Kenneally, Tom Murphy and Kurt Yeghian

## -Set Goals and Timelines

## -Discussion Meeting Frequency/Plan Future Meetings

The committee members stated they would like to meet once per month until the committee is more operational, and then the goal would be to meet quarterly.

# -Town Manager's Update

Bill Keegan updated the committee on local development projects. Current ongoing projects are the 40B project, located off of Fisher Street. (at present this project has been appealed, thus stalled); and redevelopment of the Foxfield Plaza – the permitting phase of this project is nearly complete.

Mr. Keegan also shared some experiences, with respect to economic development, from his recent attendance at the ICMA conference.

The next meeting will be on November 4, 2015 at 7pm.

Mr. Keegan notified all members that if any subcommittee planned to meet before the next scheduled meeting, it would need to be posted. Members should contact Marsha Armando in the Town Manager's Office to schedule and post the meeting.

Notification of the next general meeting of the Committee will come from the Town Manager's Office.

Meeting adjourned at 8:15pm.