# TO PORATE DO

### **CIP Committee Minutes**

Saturday November 24, 2020

### 10:00am

# Gala Meeting Room, Town Hall

### 40 South Street

Members Present: William Keegan, Jr. - Chair

Chris Gallagher – DPW Director

Dr. Amy Berdos - School Superintendent

Dr. Mark Elfman - Board of Selectmen Chair

Larry Ooi - Advisory Committee Chair

Also Present: Marc Craig, Director of Human Services

George Samia, Director of Finance

# 1. 10:00 am – Human Services Director, Marc Craig – Replacement Purchase of COA Van

Mr. Keegan - The purpose of today's meeting was to review a proposal by the Director of COA/Human Services to purchase a new, 14-passenger, handicap accessible van. He is proposing to pay for the van with CARES Act money provided by the Federal Government for COVID-19 impacts. The Town has received approval from the State to use the Cares Act money for the \$87,000 purchase.

Mr. Craig - Advised the Committee of the advantages of having a handicapped accessible van versus their current vehicle which was just a standard passenger van. He also went on to say that he thought it was fortuitous that funding came along at the time that it did since the current van went down approximately two weeks ago with a broken transmission. Given the number of miles on the current van (81,000 miles), and the prospect of a new van right around the corner, it did not make sense to repair the existing van.

After several questions were posed by the committee members and answered to their satisfaction, Mr. Keegan called for a motion to recommend the approval of the purchase of the new 14 passenger, handicapped accessible van for the COA/Humans Services Department.

Motion to approve the purchase of a new 14 passenger handicap accessible van for the COA/ Human Services Department by Chris Gallagher, Seconded by Dr. Amy Berdos. Approved 5-0.

2. 10:15 am - Approve the Minutes of the Committee's Meeting on March 14, 2020.

Motion to approve the March 14, 2020 CIP Committee Meeting minutes by Dr. Amy Berdos, seconded by Dr. Mark Elfman. Approved 4-0-1. Larry Ooi abstained, he was not part of the Committee at the time of this meeting.

# 3. Adjourn

Motion to adjourn at 10:15am by Chris Gallagher, seconded by Dr. Mark Elfman. Approved 5-0.